“Only For You”

This is a poem which a friend of mine Vasav Dave penned in Gujarati and thought of translating it to English. Please pardon me Vasav if this not what you thought :-P. I’ll post the Gujarati version too.

What should I do by changing my paths?
My destination to every road I take is “only” you
What would I get by stopping these trials?
The aim of my every task is meant “only” for you
What would I get by ending this affinity?
The bridge that connects me to my soul is “only” you
What should I do by choking myself?
The last thing I wanted was to live those vows “only” with you
What would I get by brushing off your identity from my mind?
How would I be able to melt this platony which I have “only” with you
What would I do by closing my eyes?
The webs of dreams I weave are “only” for you
What would I get by leaving this union?
The shadow that travels with my loneliness is “only” yours
Even if you decide to leave me and go away
You will have to return back “only” for me
Even if you don’t see these black clouds today
You will have to drench in the storm from them
Even though the golden bird leaves the cage today
It will have to fly in my sky after all
Maybe the sinking boat of our love has a hole in it
But it will have to harbor in our heaven after all
Let the dry autumn leaf  fall out today
I am sure it has to fly in my sky after all
Let my eyes shed tears today
They are doing it just to see your reflection in them after all
Let this union between us fall today
It has to increase the affection and madness after all
Even though I have lost the track of words today
Still the poem with those words is a dedication to you after all
Let the sage in me become a demon today
But he will still worship you after all
Even though you are erasing these words today
I know it would get imprinted in your heart after all

-Vasav Dave

Now for those who understand Gujarati here’s the original poem:

રસ્તો આ બદલી ને કરીશ પણ શું હું,

મારા દરેક રસ્તા નો અંત, એકમાત્ર તું જ તો છે.

પ્રયત્નો આ અટકાવીને કરીશ પણ શું હું,

અન્ય મારા દરેક કાર્ય નો હેતુ, એકમાત્ર તું જ તો છે.

સંબંધ આ તોડીને કરીશ પણ શું હું,

મને મારા અંતર સાથે જોડતો સેતુ, એકમાત્ર તું જ તો છે.

શ્વાસ આ રોકીને કરીશ પણ શું હું,

જન્મ જન્માંતરનો વાયદો, કરવો એકમાત્ર તારી સાથે  જ તો છે.

ઓળખાણ આ ભૂલીને કરીશ પણ શું હું,

જન્મોના બંધાયેલા ઋણાનુંબંધ, એકમાત્ર તારી સાથે જ તો છે.

આંખો આ મીંચીને કરીશ પણ શું હું,

ગૂંથાયલી જાળ અનોખી સપનાની, એકમાત્ર તારી પાછળ જ તો છે.

સાથ આ તારો છોડીને કરીશ પણ શું હું,

આ એકલરામનો પડછાયો, એકમાત્ર તું જ તો છે.

ભલે તું જતી છોડી ને આજ બધું,

ફરીને પાછા તારે, આવાનું એકમાત્ર મારી પાસે જ તો છે.

ભલે અવગણતી કોરા વાદળ ને તું આજ,

ભીંજાવાનું તારે આ તોફાની વાદળ નીચે જ તો છે.

ભલે ઉડતું પંખી સોનેરું, તોડી ને પીંજરું આજ,

ઉડવાનું એણે મારા ગગન માં જ તો છે.

ભલે ડૂબતી નાવ આ કાણી આજ,

પહોંચવાનું એણે તારા સ્વર્ગ માં જ તો છે.

ભલે ખરતું પાંદડું આ સુકું આજ,

ઉડવાનું એણે તારા પવન માં જ તો છે.

ભલે વહાવતી અશ્રુ  આ અકળ આંખ,

ત્યાગ આ એનો તારા પ્રતિબિંબ માટે જ તો છે.

ભલે તૂટતું સગપણ આ આપણું આજ

અંતે તો એણે વધારવાનું તારું વળગણ જ તો છે.

ભલે બનતો ડાકુ આ સાધુ આજ,

ડૂબવાનું એણે તારી ભક્તિ  માં  જ તો છે.

ભલે ના રહેતું ભાન આ શબ્દો નું આજ,

બનતી કવિતા તારા નામ ની જ તો છે.

ભલે ભૂંસતી  કવિતા ને તું મારી આજ,

છપાવાનું અણે તારા હ્રદય માં જ તો છે.

Leave a Reply

